Allow us to explain how synchronization works: When a synchronization
backup job is run, it first attempts to load the 'synchronization database'
file for that particular job. If it is unable to do so, it will create a
This file contains a list of files which have been properly synchronized
prior backup operation. Using this file as well as the directory listings of both
the source and destination directories, FileBack PC is able to determine if a
file has been added, modified, or deleted since the last time the backup job
was run. Using this information, FileBack can then determine whether it
needs to copy, update, or delete a file from the source/destination directories.
In order for synchronization to work properly, a database file is
required. Without the synchronization data file, FileBack would be unable
to determine the proper course of action for the files in your
directories. An example: you have two directories that you are attempting
to synchronize, and file NEWTEXT.TXT exists in the source, but not the
destination, FileBack would be unable to determine whether (a) that file NEWTEXT.TXT
has been created in the source since the last synchronization, or (b) it has
been deleted from the destination. By using a synchronization database file, however,
it is able to determine whether the file needs to be deleted or copied: If it
existed during a previous synchronization operation then it must have been deleted from the
destination and therefore should be deleted from the source. If the file
had not been seen previously it needs to be copied from the source to
For this reason, FileBack PC will default to copying files rather than
deleting them whenever the synchronization database cannot be found.
For releases of FileBack PC prior to November 11, 2004:
To prevent potential data loss, the database file is only created
or updated when a synchronization job completes without any
errors or warnings. If a backup job is set to synchronize a
folder where a particular file is always in use and will always case
a warning, we recommend excluding that file from the backup so it
can complete properly.
So, to summarize, if
you wish to have FileBack PC delete files, you must first run the associated
backup job and have it complete without errors so the
corresponding database can be
created or updated.
For releases of FileBack PC on or after November 11, 2004
The synchronization database file is always updated at the
completion of a synchronization backup job. If your backup job
is exhibiting the behavior described above, please
contact Maximum Output Software
for more assistance.